2019-01-29 13:02Press release

Winners of the 2019 Guldbagge Awards

All the Guldbagge winners at Cirkus in Stockholm, 28 January 2019. Photo: Pelle T. Nilsson / SPAAll the Guldbagge winners at Cirkus in Stockholm, 28 January 2019. Photo: Pelle T. Nilsson / SPA

At an awards ceremony held at Cirkus in Stockholm yesterday, the winners of the 2019 Guldbagge Awards were crowned. Border was the big winner with six awards including Best Film, followed by Goliath with four. Reconstructing Utøya nabbed two awards, Best Director for Carl Javér and Best Documentary.

At the ceremony, hosted by actress and screenwriter Emma Molin and broadcast live by SVT (Swedish Television), the following Guldbagge Awards were handed out:

Best Film
Border (Gräns)
Produced by Nina Bisgaard, Piodor Gustafsson and Petra Jönsson

Best Director
Carl Javér

for Reconstructing Utøya (Rekonstruktion Utøya)

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Eva Melander

for her role as Tina in Border (Gräns)

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Joakim Sällquist

for his role as Roland in Goliath (Goliat)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Lena Nilsson
for her role as Simone in Videoman (Videomannen)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Eero Milonoff

for his role as Vore in Border (Gräns)

Best Screenplay
Peter Grönlund

for Goliath (Goliat)

Best Cinematography
Kristoffer Jönsson

for Garden Lane (Trädgårdsgatan)

Best Editing
Dino Jonsäter

for Goliath (Goliat)

Best Costume
Ingrid Sjögren

for The Cake General (Tårtgeneralen)

Best Sound/Sound Design
Christian Holm

for Border (Gräns)

Best Makeup
Göran Lundström, Pamela Goldammer
and Erica Spetzig

for Border (Gräns)

Best Original Score
Johan Testad

for Goliath (Goliat)

Best Set Design
Ulrika von Vegesack

for A Moon of My Own (Ted – För kärlekens skull)

Best Visual Effects
Peter Hjorth, Mikael Windelin
and Christian Sjöstedt

for Border (Gräns)

Best Short Film
The Martyr (Martyren)
by Ahmed Abdullahi

Best Documentary Film

Reconstructing Utøya (Rekonstruktion Utøya)
by Carl Javér

Best Foreign Film

by Hirokazu Kore-eda

Additional awards at the ceremony:

The Guldbagge Audience Award
The Cake General (Tårtgeneralen)
Produced by Martin Söder, Renée Axö and Lars Beckung

Handed out for the second year, the Guldbagge Audience Award (Guldbaggens publikpris) included all 47 Swedish feature length films that premiered in cinemas during 2018. The award was produced by The Swedish Film Institute in collaboration with Swedish news media Aftonbladet. The voting process started on 21 December 2018 and continued until 22 January 2019, with three finalists making the last round of voting.

Newcomer of the Year
Film collective Crazy Pictures

Lifetime Achievement Award

The board of the Swedish Film Institute extends the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award to actress Yvonne Lombard

The Gullspira 2019, for extraordinary contributions to films for children, was awarded to producer, director and screenwriter Linda Hambäck

Facts about the 2019 Guldbagge:

In total, 27 films were nominated. Of those, the following nine films were awarded:

Border 6 Guldbagge Awards (which ties with the record held by Force Majeure at the 2015 Guldbagge Awards)

Goliath4 Guldbagge Awards

Reconstructing Utøya2 Guldbagge Awards

The Cake General 1 Guldbagge Award and The Guldbagge Audience Award

Videoman 1 Guldbagge Award

Garden Lane 1 Guldbagge Award

A Moon of My Own1 Guldbagge Award

Shoplifters1 Gulbagge Awards

The Martyr 1 Guldbagge Award

Awarded annually since 1964, the Guldbagge ("Golden Beetle") is the name of the Swedish Film Institute's award for achievements during the previous year. The award itself, in the form of a fantastical beetle, was designed by artist Karl Axel Pehrson.

Read more about the award at guldbaggen.se

About The Swedish Film Institute

The Swedish Film Institute is a collective voice for film in Sweden, and a meeting-place for experiences and insights that elevate film on all levels. We preserve and make available Sweden’s film heritage, work to educate children and young people in film and moving images, support the production, distribution and screening of valuable film, and represent Swedish film internationally. A broad diversity of narratives establishes discussions and insights that strengthen the individual and our democracy. Together, we enable more people to create, experience and be enriched by film.


Jan Göransson
Head of Press
Jan Göransson
Per Perstrand
Communications Officer – Press
Per Perstrand